About Us

Simpson Elementary School was named after Richard A. Simpson who has been a long-time resident of the community, a teacher, principal and an assistant superintendent. Mr. Simpson and his family have contributed a great deal to both the community and to the education of many students. We are very proud that our school was named after such a deserving individual.

The name of our school was selected from hundreds of entries from the Fox C-6 students. A second grader from Clyde Hamrick Elementary, Curtis Ems, was responsible for submitting the name “Richard Simpson.” A committee of board members and C-6 staff members, without hesitation, agreed with Curtis, thus naming the school after Mr. Simpson.

The site was purchased from Mr. and Mrs. Edward Ziegler. Approximately 16 acres were purchased for about $16,000 per acre. The total sale came to about $265,000. The cost of the building itself was about $4,100,000.

The first principal, Mrs. Alice Menne, with the help of many parents and students, opened the building during the winter of 1994-1995 to approximately 670 students and 55 full and part-time staff members.

Dr. Charles E. Hudson and Mr. James E. Chellew were the central office administrators who played a major role in the initial planning stages of the building and carried out the plans for Simpson Elementary. Mrs. Terri Eldridge, Mr. Ron Counts, Mr. Steven Ott, Mr. Kevin Kraus, Mr. Gary Prindiville, Mrs. Kathy Hayes and Mr. Jon Zimmermann were active board members during the year of construction and the opening of the building. We thank Dr. Hudson, Mr. Chellew, and the C-6 Board of Education for such a beautiful facility.

The 1995-1996 school year opened with approximately 750 students. By the 1996-1997 school year we had to add two double-wide trailers to accommodate our sixth graders. We had grown to 825 students. Our friend, Mr. Simpson, retired from the Fox C-6 School District that summer. We continue to celebrate December 19th as “Richard A. Simpson Day”. During the 1997-1998 school year there were approximately 900 students enrolled; the 1998-1999 school year, approximately 800 students. George Guffey Elementary opened in the Fenton area that year.

The 2000-2001 school year brought honors to Simpson Elementary from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch for high student achievement. We were visited by Governor Bob Holden who recognized our students and teachers for their superior performance. In the spring, longtime principal Alice Menne was chosen to serve the Fox District as Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Education. Bryan Clark, assistant principal 1998-2001, was selected as principal beginning Fall 2001.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.